Happy Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day! 

Whether you cherish or despise the holiday, it’s always a great time to celebrate love and to reflect on its impact in our lives.

In his book The Four Loves, author C.S. Lewis identifies four specific kinds of love:

  1. STORGE, which refers to familial or affectionate love
  2. PHILIA, which refers to friendship
  3. EROS, which refers to romantic love
  4. AGAPE, which refers to spiritual or Christian love

Of these, our culture tends to emphasize romantic love – especially on Valentine’s Day – but I think it’s important to uphold the others as well. For example, where would we be without friendship? As Lewis writes, “Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art, like the universe itself (for God did not need to create). It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival.

So while Valentine’s Day may be the perfect time to celebrate romance, let’s remember to also honor and lift up those who love us through their affection and friendship.

How do you celebrate love in your life?

Image via Tumblr

Leave a Reply